In 1952, all stations in Ontario produced a little more than one-half as much power as the Quebec stations. Of the total for Ontario stations 11 p.c. was produced by privately owned stations.

Because of the absence of free market determination of prices and regulation of services in an industry that is semi-monopolistic, regulation of electrical utilities has been attempted in most provinces. The governing bodies of the provincial electric-power commissions, their functions and activities are summarized by provinces in the following paragraphs. Certain privately owned utilities are also covered.

Newfoundland.—There are no publicly owned hydro-electric systems in Newfoundland. The largest water-power development in the Province is located at Deer Lake. The plant, which is operated by Bowater's Newfoundland Pulp and Paper Company Limited, has a total capacity of 150,000 h.p. This Company develops hydro-electric energy at Deer Lake mainly for its own use in the manufacture of pulp and paper and also supplies electric power to the Buchans Mining Company for its mining operations and to the Newfoundland Light and Power Company Limited which distributes electricity to consumers in Corner Brook and adjacent communities in the Bay of Islands sections.

The Anglo-Newfoundland Development Company Limited develops hydroelectric power at two plants situated at Grand Falls and Bishop's Falls with a total capacity of 59,900 h.p. The Company utilizes most of its hydro-electric power in the manufacture of pulp and paper and supplies light and power to the towns of Grand Falls, Bishop's Falls, Botwood and adjacent communities.

The Newfoundland Light and Power Company Limited has seven plants that develop hydro-electric energy with a total installed capacity of 55,400 h.p. It distributes electricity to the city of St. John's and the town of Bell Island and the iron-mining operations there.

The United Towns Electric Company Limited operates seven plants, of which five are located at Conception Bay and two on the Burin Peninsula. The Company sells light and power to communities on the Avalon and Burin Peninsulas and to the fluorspar mining operations at St. Lawrence on the Burin Peninsula. It developed 27,398,345 kwh. during 1953. The West Coast Power Company, a subsidiary of the United Towns Electric Company, operates a plant on Lookout Brook, a tributary of Flat Bay Brook which flows into St. George's Bay. It generated 15,166,800 kwh. in 1953.

Two small companies, the Clarenville Light and Power Company and the Union Electric Company, operate plants at Clarenville and Port Union, respectively.

Nova Scotia.—Legislation relating to the use of water power was first enacted in Nova Scotia in 1909 under "An Act for the Further Assistance of the Gold Mining Industry". In 1914, legislation was passed initiating the development of water power in the Province and this was carried on in an investigatory manner in cooperation with the Federal Government until 1919 when the Nova Scotia Power Commission was created under the Power Commission Act. Certain investigatory work is still carried on in Nova Scotia by the Federal Government in close association with the Commission. The control of the water resources of the Province is vested in the Crown and is administered under the provisions of the Nova Scotia Water Act of 1919. The Commission pays the regular fees for water rights.

The function of the Commission is to supply electric power and energy by the most economical means available. The Rural Electrification Act of 1937 greatly